Councillors 1982

Members of Newry & Mourne Council, twenty-five years ago,  were:

William Coulter  Kilkeel

Anne Marie Cunningham Kilkeel

George Graham Kilkeel

Colum Murnion Kilkeel

William Russell Rostrevor

P J Bradley Warrenpoint

Jim McCart Warrenpoint

Brian Mulligan Rostrevor

Liam Trainor Warrenpoint

Violet Cromie Rathfriland

Patrick Harper Hilltown

Nan Sands Newry

William Sterritt Rathfriland

John Bell Newry

Francis McCamley Newry

John McEvoy Killeavy

Thomas McGrath  Newry

Eugene Markey Newry

Andrew Moffett Newry

Clarence Morrow Bessbrook

Owen Kelly Crossmaglen

James McCreesh Camlough

Jim Murphy Dromintee

James Savage Bellecks

Pat Toner Forkhill

Anthony Watters Crossmaglen

Fred Kearns  Newry

William McCaigue Newry

Pat McElroy Newry

Arthur Ruddy Newry


Among those who have passed on and are sorely missed are John Bell, Tommy McGrath, Eugene Markey and Jim Murphy (featured several times on this site).

We can list their names but it would be something else entirely to list their achievements!

Read that whatever way you like.

I can put a party label (or Independent) to each name …  (but why bother?) ..and


I’m really a sad individual.

On the other hand, I couldn’t name you ten of those currently serving as Councillors on Newry & Mourne District Council.




Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.